World cup qualifiers south america

world cup qualifiers south america

What is the FIFA World Cup 2022 South American qualification?

The South American section of the 2022 FIFA World Cup qualification acts as qualifiers for the 2022 FIFA World Cup, to be held in Qatar, for national teams which are members of the South American Football Confederation ( CONMEBOL ).

How did South America qualify for the 2010 World Cup?

For qualification, the nine South American nations were divided into three groups of three teams each, as Brazil qualified automatically as holders; Argentina, Chile, Uruguay also qualified for the tournament. Brazil finished in fourth place, while Argentina was eliminated in the second round, and Chile and Uruguay in the first round.

Which South American countries participated in the 1994 World Cup?

Four South American nations participated in the 1994 World Cup: Argentina, Brazil, Colombia and Bolivia. Chile could not take part in qualification as it was still banned by FIFA; Bolivia had qualified for the first time since the 1950 tournament.

How many South American countries played in the 2002 World Cup?

At the 2002 FIFA World Cup, five nations from South America participated: Argentina, Brazil, Ecuador, Paraguay and Uruguay, with Ecuador making their World Cup finals debut. Paraguays first match in their group was a 2–2 draw with South Africa, with their goals coming from Roque Santa Cruz and Francisco Arce.

How many teams were in the 1994 World Cup?

The 1994 FIFA World Cup featured 24 teams with one place reserved for the host nation, United States, and one place for the defending champions, Germany. The remaining 22 places were determined by a qualification process, in which 147 teams, from the six FIFA confederations, competed.

Why did Chile not qualify for the 1994 World Cup?

The sanctions were not lifted until 1994, by which time it was no longer possible for the team to qualify. Chile s suspension from the 1990 FIFA World Cup, following the forced interruption of their qualification game against Brazil, extended to the 1994 qualifiers as well.

What South American countries played in the 2006 World Cup?

At the 2006 FIFA World Cup, four nations from South America participated: Argentina, Brazil, Ecuador and Paraguay. Ecuador were drawn into Group A with hosts Germany, Poland, and Costa Rica. Wins over Poland and Costa Rica earned La Tri qualification to the knockout stage for the first time.

What happened to Uruguay in the 1994 World Cup?

The team was banned from the qualifiers of the 1994 Football World Cup, and Rojas was banned for life, although an amnesty was granted in 2001. ^ FIFA World Cup Origin (PDF). FIFA. Archived from the original (PDF) on November 29, 2007. Retrieved 17 November 2009. ^ Uruguay 1930 BBC. Retrieved on 25 February 2007.

Postagens relacionadas: