What is the official name of Tonga?

Tonga (/ ˈtɒŋ (ɡ) ə /, Tongan: [ˈtoŋa]), officially named the Kingdom of Tonga (Tongan: Puleʻanga Fakatuʻi ʻo Tonga), is a Polynesian country, and also an archipelago comprising 169 islands, of which 36 are inhabited.

What will cut Tonga from the rest of the world?

^ Torchinsky, Rina (18 January 2022). An undersea cable fault could cut Tonga from the rest of the world for weeks. NPR. Retrieved 24 February 2022. ^ Rising, Nick Perry and David (9 February 2022). Elon Musks Starlink helping restore Tongan internet as virus outbreak grows. CTVNews. Retrieved 17 April 2022.

What is the political system in Tonga?

A deeply conservative, Christian country, Tonga voted in its first popularly elected parliament in 2010, ending 165 years of feudal rule. In 2015, the country elected its first non-noble prime minister.

What is the Tui Tonga?

Human and divine at the same time, the Tui Tonga was the embodiment of the Tongan people, and this is still a powerful metaphor. Tongans were fierce warriors and skilled navigators whose outrigger canoes could carry up to two hundred people.

What is the country of Tonga called today?

Tonga, officially Kingdom of Tonga, Tongan Fakatuʿi ʿo Tonga, also called Friendly Islands, country in the southwestern Pacific Ocean. It consists of some 170 islands divided into three main island groups: Tongatapu in the south, Haʿapai in the centre, and Vavaʿu in the north.

How many islands does Tonga have?

Tonga is a country in Pacific Ocean. It has 169 islands. Only 36 islands have inhabitants. The most important island is Tongatapu.

Who is the current king of Tonga?

George Tupou V is the king of Tonga and the Prime Minister is Pohiva Tuionetoa. The capital of Tonga is Nukualofa . The official languages of Tonga are Tongan and English. Tonga had 102,321 inhabitants in 2000. It is a very hot country.

What is the national flag of Tonga?

A red field with the white rectangle on the upper hoist-side corner bearing the red Greek Cross in the centre. The flag of Tonga consists of a red field with a white canton charged with a red couped cross. Adopted in 1875 after being officially enshrined into the nations constitution, it has been the flag of the Kingdom of Tonga since that year.

What type of government does Tonga have?

(March 2012) Politics of Tonga takes place in a framework of a constitutional monarchy, whereby the King is the Head of State and the Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces. Tongas Prime Minister is currently appointed by the King from among the members of Parliament after having won the support of a majority of its members.

What was the first political party in Tonga?

Tonga’s first political party, the People’s Party, was formed in 1994 out of the pro-democracy movement. In the 1999 elections it won five of the nine people’s seats in the assembly.

What is the electoral system in Tonga?

The electoral system was changed in April 2010, with 17 of 26 representatives now directly elected. Below is a list of recent or upcoming by-elections: Tongas court system consists of the Court of Appeal (Privy Council), the Supreme Court, the Magistrates Court, and the Land Court.

What is the social structure in Tonga?

Tonga’s social structure was divided into three distinct groups: the king, who occupied the highest rank, nobles, and the commoners who held the lowest rank. At the start of the 20th century, Tonga entered into partnership with Britain when they signed a Treaty of Friendship on May 18, 1900.

Postagens relacionadas: